Captain to be ordained on Dec. 25th

Pra’ek “Captain” Puthanate Hongmanop asks to become ordained as a monk for 1 full month. Even though he has received a later date for ordination, but he explains that he truly wants to do it. As for the person holding his pillow on that day of the ceremony, we’ll have to wait and see.

There is news that you will be ordained?

“On December 25th krub at Wat Buan. I will be in the afternoon because around noon, I will be shaving my head. I was determined since that beginning that I would do it, but I extended it to 1, 2, 3 years because I had a lot of work. Because of this, I planned to become a monk for a short period of time. This time, I can only do it for 1 month. It’s the longest I can do it for. I wish I had more time than this.”

How for have you prepared yourself?

“Well, I’ve been planning myself by practicing the prayers and taking care of myself. Those who are close to their ordination have to be careful. Right now, I’m able to recite the prayers 100%. There are some little things, but I’m confident because the prayers for Wat Buan are prayers that I’ve never heard of before. It’s in the older language krub. It’s a little harder. But I have to do it.”

We heard that you’re giving it your all for this ordination?

“I am krub because it give a lot of meaning to our life. I believe now why people back then want their sons to get ordained because it’s a life lesson. It allows us to live our life the right way.”

After coming out of monkhood, will you let go of what you learned?

“Honestly, this is up to the future na krub. But right now, I want to give it my all. In our lifetime, if we are able to be ordained as a monk, we are like the real sons of Buddha. It makes me feel like this is the right opportunity in the life of a Buddhist man.”

Will we be seeing your sweetheart hold the pillow for you?

“There are people who are waiting to hold the pillow. She will come krub, but it’s normal. I don’t know what she will be holding. Everyone can carry whatever they want to carry.”

Source: Daradaily

Leave a Reply

